We are still shipping our orders during COVID-19.

Customer Reviews for Umarex 9XP CO2 Blowback Steel BB Pistol

Brand: Umarex Airguns Canada

Type: BB Pistol
Manufacturer: Umarex
Model: 9XP
Materials: Metal with ABS plastic grips
Weight: 1.1 kg (2.4 lbs)
Barrel: 152.4 mm (6 in), metal, non-rifled, smoothbore
Propulsion: 12 g CO2 x 1
Action: Semi-auto blowblack, double-action only
Ammunition Type: 4.5 mm steel BBs
Ammunition Capacity: 20 rounds
FPS: 400

Trigger Pull: On the medium to heavy side. The trigger pull on this gun is a little bit longer and tougher on the 9XP compared to the discontinued Umarex SA177. The gun shoots a little harder though so the internal spring might be slightly heavier.

Accuracy: I shot the Umarex 9XP at a target from 30 feet away in a semi-rested position and it performed quite well! I had a nice 5-6 shot group dead center on the target well under a 1 inch diameter and then 4 shots came outside extending the grouping to about 2 inches, again another well centered grouping!

Build Quality: It has good weight and craftsmanship. The 9XP shares a lot of the same internal parts as the Umarex SA177 with some minor cosmetic changes to make it look less like a Glock.

Realism: The 9XP is essentially a reskin of the SA177, modeled after the popular Glock carry pistol widely used by governmental agencies. It uses blowback action to simulate a real firearm and the metal slide and integrated accessory rail add to the overall realism of this gun.

Pros:

  • Great accuracy and power combination
  • Loud, snappy blowback action for realistic shooting
  • Integrated Picatinny rail on the underside to mount accessories like flashlights
  • Full metal slide ensures reliability
  • Working safety near trigger
  • Convenient CO2 hatch in the back of the handle
  • Nice fiber optic sights
  • All metal drop-out magazine

Cons:

  • Blowback action uses more CO2
  • Long and heavy trigger pull may be tiring for extended shooting sessions
  • Non-adjustable sights

Comments: The Umarex 9XP Blowback CO2 BB Pistol is a nice replacement for the SA177. The trigger on the 9XP is a bit heavier but not by much. During the field test shooting, the 9XP shot at a speed much higher, coming in at an average of 412 fps for my 5 shot string. So if you have been wanting an SA177 but cannot find one used, grab yourself one of the Umarex 9XPs, you will not be disappointed.

Buy the magazine: GPUMX2252108

 
1 to 10 of 16 reviews

Quality
Accuracy
Money Value
May 07, 2020

Umarex 9XP

Second time i have ordered from replica airguns. Very good and fast service. Would recommend them if your looking for good prices and excellent service.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Quality
Money Value
Accuracy
May 03, 2020

Great gun

Really impressed nice feel in your hands nice crisp blowback good value for the price
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Quality
Accuracy
Money Value
Apr 30, 2020

Mr.

Could not be happier!
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Mar 22, 2020

Heavy duty

Feels solid, shoots well. Blowback action takes away from CO2 and accuracy but not much. I'm very pleased with my purchase
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Accuracy
Quality
Money Value
Feb 29, 2020

9xp

This is a good little gun for practice
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Accuracy
Money Value
Quality
Aug 07, 2019

Umarex 9XP

- nice real feel - Cool blow back action - a bit loud but i love it - shot Several mags back to back,lost a bit accuracy but all in all still on target
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Quality
Money Value
Accuracy
Feb 27, 2019
Certified buyer

9XP for the win, with caveats...

Okay, so I bought one of these as well as the Glock 17 Gen 3 and this is how they stack-up given the two price points. Generally speaking, the 9XP is probably one of the best blow-back guns for the money. You don't have to worry about paying licencing in the purchasing price too which is why it's so inexpensive. I bought one of these for one of my kids. But I am a huge Glock fan so purchased a 17 as well for me, and to my Wife's dismay I pretty much carry it everywhere I go around the house (unloaded of course). 9XP price point is far lower than Glock 17 9XP blow-back is stronger than the Glock 17 9XP BB FPS speed is higher. Accuracy is about the same as far as I can tell at the ranges we shoot 9XP looks are pretty good indeed for a non-replica gun, and complete with the rail mount. 9XP suffers from a slight top heavy feel. Unless you own another 'realistic' replica you may not ever notice this, not quite enough grip weight to offset the metal slide is my theory on that. 9XP and Glock 17 Gen 3 are both partial blow-back guns. You will get higher FPS and better CO2 usage than full blow-back at the expense of the stronger full blow-back feel. It's unlikely anyone buying a 9XP will be disappointed for the $ invested vs performance, it's a very fun BB pistol.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Jul 12, 2018
Certified buyer

9XP complete test

Awesome! realistic blowback, very accurate, very economic on CO2 for a blowback. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Apr 06, 2018
Certified buyer

Good entry level blowback pistol

Nice little pistol for $100. Great for beginners but that's it. The slide wobbles left to right a lot, accuracy is ok and blowback is minimal. I would recommend it to someone who wants to get started in the hobby but not to someone who has another blowback BB pistol.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Jan 05, 2018

Excellent budget blow back

Picked this up as per the recommendations on this site. IMHO, the ergonomics, weight, blow back, metal slide, accuracy, etc. are all top notch. The trigger is a tad heavy and the even though the slide locks back after the last shot, the pistol can still continue to be dry fired. Overall, one of the best options for under $100 CAD.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0
1 to 10 of 16 reviews