Customer Reviews for Umarex 9XP Metal Slide CO2 BB Pistol

Brand: Umarex

Type: BB Pistol
Manufacturer: Umarex
Model: 9XP
Materials: Metal with ABS plastic grips
Weight: 1.1 kg (2.4 lbs)
Barrel: 152.4 mm (6 in), metal, non-rifled, smoothbore
Propulsion: 12 g CO2 x 1
Action: Semi-auto blowblack, double-action only
Ammunition Type: 4.5 mm steel BBs
Ammunition Capacity: 20 rounds
FPS: 400

Trigger Pull: On the medium to heavy side. The trigger pull on this gun is a little bit longer and tougher on the 9XP compared to the discontinued Umarex SA177. The gun shoots a little harder though so the internal spring might be slightly heavier.

Accuracy: I shot the Umarex 9XP at a target from 30 feet away in a semi-rested position and it performed quite well! I had a nice 5-6 shot group dead center on the target well under a 1 inch diameter and then 4 shots came outside extending the grouping to about 2 inches, again another well centered grouping!

Build Quality: It has good weight and craftsmanship. The 9XP shares a lot of the same internal parts as the Umarex SA177 with some minor cosmetic changes to make it look less like a Glock.

Realism: The 9XP is essentially a reskin of the SA177, modeled after the popular Glock carry pistol widely used by governmental agencies. It uses blowback action to simulate a real firearm and the metal slide and integrated accessory rail add to the overall realism of this gun.

Pros:

  • Great accuracy and power combination
  • Loud, snappy blowback action for realistic shooting
  • Integrated Picatinny rail on the underside to mount accessories like flashlights
  • Full metal slide ensures reliability
  • Working safety near trigger
  • Convenient CO2 hatch in the back of the handle
  • Nice fiber optic sights
  • All metal drop-out magazine

Cons:

  • Blowback action uses more CO2
  • Long and heavy trigger pull may be tiring for extended shooting sessions
  • Non-adjustable sights

Comments: The Umarex 9XP Blowback CO2 BB Pistol is a nice replacement for the SA177. The trigger on the 9XP is a bit heavier but not by much. During the field test shooting, the 9XP shot at a speed much higher, coming in at an average of 412 fps for my 5 shot string. So if you have been wanting an SA177 but cannot find one used, grab yourself one of the Umarex 9XPs, you will not be disappointed.

Buy the magazine: GPUMX2252108

 
1 to 10 of 11 reviews

Accuracy
Money Value
Quality
Aug 07, 2019

Umarex 9XP

- nice real feel - Cool blow back action - a bit loud but i love it - shot Several mags back to back,lost a bit accuracy but all in all still on target
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Quality
Money Value
Accuracy
Feb 27, 2019
Certified buyer

9XP for the win, with caveats...

Okay, so I bought one of these as well as the Glock 17 Gen 3 and this is how they stack-up given the two price points. Generally speaking, the 9XP is probably one of the best blow-back guns for the money. You don't have to worry about paying licencing in the purchasing price too which is why it's so inexpensive. I bought one of these for one of my kids. But I am a huge Glock fan so purchased a 17 as well for me, and to my Wife's dismay I pretty much carry it everywhere I go around the house (unloaded of course). 9XP price point is far lower than Glock 17 9XP blow-back is stronger than the Glock 17 9XP BB FPS speed is higher. Accuracy is about the same as far as I can tell at the ranges we shoot 9XP looks are pretty good indeed for a non-replica gun, and complete with the rail mount. 9XP suffers from a slight top heavy feel. Unless you own another 'realistic' replica you may not ever notice this, not quite enough grip weight to offset the metal slide is my theory on that. 9XP and Glock 17 Gen 3 are both partial blow-back guns. You will get higher FPS and better CO2 usage than full blow-back at the expense of the stronger full blow-back feel. It's unlikely anyone buying a 9XP will be disappointed for the $ invested vs performance, it's a very fun BB pistol.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Jul 12, 2018
Certified buyer

9XP complete test

Awesome! realistic blowback, very accurate, very economic on CO2 for a blowback. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Apr 06, 2018
Certified buyer

Good entry level blowback pistol

Nice little pistol for $100. Great for beginners but that's it. The slide wobbles left to right a lot, accuracy is ok and blowback is minimal. I would recommend it to someone who wants to get started in the hobby but not to someone who has another blowback BB pistol.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Jan 05, 2018

Excellent budget blow back

Picked this up as per the recommendations on this site. IMHO, the ergonomics, weight, blow back, metal slide, accuracy, etc. are all top notch. The trigger is a tad heavy and the even though the slide locks back after the last shot, the pistol can still continue to be dry fired. Overall, one of the best options for under $100 CAD.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Quality
Money Value
Accuracy
Nov 02, 2017

Worth The Money

Was my first air gun purchase at this site. After receiving the gun I was very pleased to notice the weight and realistic feel to the gun. For the price of 75$ you can't go wrong. The metal slide is decorative but still a nice feature to the gun. For the price almost no other gun could compare with accuracy, fps, weight and build quality. I watched all of the youtube videos on the site prior to purchase. Other people are complaining about the C02 chamber but i have not noticed any problems to the door hatch having this pistol for 2 weeks. One minor complaint i have is the front sight is not illuminated or white dot. This makes is much harder to aim compared to the SA-177. The Gun is a nice replica and is very impressive. I would recommend this to a friend. This gun works perfectly with Umarex BB's or Crossman Copperhead BB's!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Mar 08, 2017
Certified buyer

If you want a glock...

Than you gotta buy this one. blowback pistol that shoot hard, good looking, and excellent value. If they fix that rattling sound under the barrel (you will see that loose piece that the pin go thru under the barrel once you remove the slide), make the trigger lighter, and use a better spring for the slide... this would be a perfect gun.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Accuracy
Quality
Jan 20, 2016
Certified buyer

very nice for the price / qualité prix exeptionnel

it be difficult to find best quality price then this pistol. the construction is great perhaps the slide appear a little slack but the metal of this one are great and the weight is nice. the blowback effect are very snappy and the slide locking after the last shoot is very realist.the accuracy at approx 15' are in a great average but not exeptionnal. so for the price is so good. co2 consumption are great for a blowback pistol, above 100 shoots.i realy like this gun !il serait difficile de trouver meilleur qualité prix. la contruction est bonne. meme s il est solide la cullasse semble un peu lousse mais le metal de celui ci lui donne un effet et un poids tres agreable.l'effet blowback est tres reussi et donne un tres bon "kick" et avec le fait, que la culasse reste barré en arriere apres le dernier coup, cela donne beaucoup de realisme.la precision du tir a 15' est dans une bonne moyenne sans etre exeptionnel. mais pour le prix elle est tres bonne.le consomation de co2 d environ 100 tir ou un peu plus est bonne pour un arme avec blowback.j aime vraiment ce fusil !
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Accuracy
Quality
Money Value
Nov 10, 2015

Pretty good

Is fun but not very acurate overall worth the money. Is alot like a glock.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Accuracy
Money Value
Quality
Jul 26, 2015

Will I buy it again, YES

Very good quality, the plastic of the body is not chinese, the slide metal is great, look a lot like a G..... accurate even for a DA that is not so hard, 100 shot's or so per CO2. Only draw back is the slide/blowback that is decorative, that's why the spring is so weak. I do recommend it specialy at that price, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0
1 to 10 of 11 reviews