Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Black 327 TRR8

Brand: Umarex

Type: BB air revolver
Manufacturer: Umarex
Model: Smith & Wesson 327 TRR8
Materials: Mostly metal with some plastic construction
Weight: 2.3 pounds
Barrel: 6 inches, non-rifled
Propulsion: 12 gram CO2
Action: Revolver, single & double actions
Ammunition Type: 4.5mm steel BBs
Ammunition Capacity: 6 rounds
FPS: 400fps

Trigger Pull: The trigger pull on the Umarex Smith & Wesson 327 TRR8 is good in both single and double action; I wouldn't say it isn't supper light in either action but pretty decent overall. I found shooting in single action to be the most precise as the release point is instant. Shooting in double action was also fairly predictable.

 

Accuracy: The results I got shooting my 6 round group from a 20 foot out position where none other than impressive and I would have to say the 327 TRR8 shot the best group (just over a 1/2 inch) I have ever recorded using 4.5mm steel BBs. I'm not even sure if I have bettered these results using pellets from a rifled barreled pistol? This goes to show you how well an accurate BB gun can perform when shooting from a reasonable distance.

Build Quality: With the Umarex S&W 327 TRR8 Revolver being mostly metal, you would expect it to have a decent build quality and I am happy to say it does. Everything looked and fit well, the CO2 Revolver had good heft to it and I had absolutely no problems shooting this gun. My only real reservation is the plastic CO2 screw tab but so far with my other guns that have the same type of tabs, they are holding up well.

 

Realism: The Umarex Smith & Wesson 327 TRR8 is very realistic in terms of looking and operating as a revolver with its brass shell casings you load juts like a real revolver, so yes it feels realistic and even looks a lot like a S&W 327 TRR8 to some degree. With that said, Umarex has taken some liberty on this one most likely because it is built off an existing airgun frame and to make it into a true 327 TRR8 replica would have required a complete redesign. I would have to say the Umarex S&W M&P R8 is actually a closer 327 TRR8 Replica than the gun reviewed in this video.

Pros:

  • It's a revolver with actual shells! Gives you the feeling of loading and shooting a real revolver.
  • Almost all metal design.
  • Lots of detail in this gun, very well made, fit and finish is excellent.
  • Excellent power, accuracy and shots per CO2.
  • Adjustable fiber optic sights.
  • Lots of places to mount accessories.

Cons:

  • Plastic CO2 screw tab could cause problems down the road?
  • Only shoots BB's - why not make a pellet version with a rifled barrel?
  • Actually shoots 6 rounds not 8 like the real version of this revolver.

Comments: What's not to like about this Umarex Smith & Wesson Revolver? It's built very well, it most certainly looks good, it has the best tested accuracy I have seen so far from a BB gun, it shot even higher velocities than claimed, it gets tons of shots from a single CO2, and it loads up just like a real steel revolver but at a fraction of the cost to shoot! If you want to customize yours you have plenty of options with two weaver mounts top and bottom and it comes in at a very reasonable price tag!

 
1 to 8 of 8 reviews

Accuracy
Money Value
Quality
Apr 22, 2019
Certified buyer

Good BB Gun

Nice little gun, its pretty accurate right out of the box, only thing is the grip on the hand for the co2 when i got it comes off with little to no force at all, theres no tabs really holding it on good, so the grip comes off all the time. takes a little bit of getting used to loading it cause it can be a pain but thats what you get for realism! buy extra shells for it cause the gun comes with a speed loader then every time dump the shells and use the speed loader to pop the other in and it cuts the time down between loading alot i found.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Quality
Money Value
Accuracy
Mar 02, 2019

bonne qualité et tres bon tire !

bonne qualité et tres bon tire !
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Accuracy
Quality
Feb 19, 2018
Certified buyer

Great Value

This gun has a lot going for it. This is a blast to shoot. The fiber optic sights are excellent for target acquisition. The all metal frame and loadable shells are great and really enhance the shooting of this gun. My only gripe is the handle. The grips are Mickey mouse and the balance is a little barrel heavy. That being said this is minor. Overall this gun is awesome and a great value. I recommend this gun big time.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Accuracy
Quality
Money Value
Mar 10, 2016

Unreal accuracy ....

I didn't realize I was a revolver type guy until I bought the TRR8. Fire six shots, walk up to the target,evaluate, load six more shells. Nice easy pace.This gun is WAY more accurate than my Sig 226 or Beretta 84FS - still have a very high opinion of both of them but the bar has definitely been set higher by the TRR8. I make my own targets with just a 1 inch ring and half inch ring within that. Just finished shooting three loads with the S&M TRR8 handheld at a target indoors from twenty feet on a half expired cylinder of CO2. Of the eighteen shots all but two were within the 1 inch circle, nine were within the half inch circle. Handheld! Unreal accuracy. My Sig 226 won't do that.BTW: You can remove the top sight rail if you wish. Instructions are in the manual, it's quite simple, but they tell you to remove the wrong pin at the top in the instructions. What you do is take a small Allen key and use it to tap out the smaller diameter pin at the top closest to the gun sight (when you look at the gun it's obvious which one is holding the sight in place, it's a hollow pin), unscrew the top screw on the sight, remove sight, then slide the rail off after loosening it with a small Allen key. No problem to reassemble.I'm not particularly mechanical but I found it all quite easy, and I think the gun looks better with the rail removed. Sleek, svelte,less techno geek than with the rail.The TRR8 is a wonderful pistol, and for the price you really can't go wrong. Highly recommended. Consider ordering extra shells with it.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Accuracy
Quality
Money Value
Jan 22, 2016

I think the best combo of "realism" and performance

This is my first revolver BB gun and I was shopping for explicitly this: the best combination of performance (accuracy, CO_2 consumption, an ease to use factor) and realism (trigger pull, how the gun works). Tack on a price point about $30 cheaper than the Wesson revolvers, you can use the saved cost to get some more shells. For quality, the cons are the finicky grip holding the C0_2, the the CO_2 tab can keep the handle from closing if not tightened appropriately (Can see this becoming a problem as the seal may wear out), and the top rail can come loose. Other than that, it's a pretty solid build, almost all metal, and the sights seem to be pretty sturdy (A worry of mine). At $115, you can't really go wrong with this versus some of the cheapest Wesson revolvers, and you get the added bonus of the fiber optical sights (Which for me were easier to sight than iron sights shooting indoors).
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Nov 19, 2015
Certified buyer

Plain Fun

I know some other reviews complain about some of the quality issues with this revolver, but this is a great gun none the less. Yes the grip can be a little annoying, and like most replica guns the paint scratches easily...but the fun factor easily outweighs these. It looks great..it shoots fantastic..the pleasure of loading the shells in the cylinder, and pulling back the hammer makes it all worth while. The gun makes a nice "crack" when it fires, and the trigger pull is light...hey...it's a replica bb revolver, and it's just plain fun!
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Accuracy
Quality
Money Value
Oct 15, 2015

Excellent accuracy, middling quality

Like the title says, very accurate (3/8" at 6m, six shots)The sights are easy to use, fiber optics, much better than plain or white dot sights. Double action is great. Downsides are the grip is cheap feeling plastic, and fiddly to slide on and off to change co2. It also interferes with the speed loader, making it useless.My example also has a loose barrel, there is play between it and the receiver. Does not affect accuracy, I think the actual BB barrel is floated inside, it just makes the gun feel cheap when you move it and you feel the clunk of the play. Other than the loose barrel, I think it is a great value for a short range plinker
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Accuracy
Money Value
Quality
Oct 12, 2014

S&W 327 TRR8 Is A Gem!

My wife and I bought the TRR8 a week or so ago and we both have put a few hundred rounds through it. This is one of the best moderately priced airgun revolvers both of us have ever shot. We have shot dozens of air revolvers, but this one has the best bang for the buck going on. The fibre optic fully adjustable rear sights make this gun a real tack driver. I put 5 rounds into practically the same hole at 15 feet earlier today. My largest grouping was 1 inch so far at 30 feet. My averages are more like half inch groupings or better at 20-30 feet. I am amazed at how accurate this is, considering we are talking about a smooth bore BB CO2 shooter here. Things I would change? The paint is distracting, and looks cheap like all the Umarex painted guns do. I wish all the companies out there would find a suitable metal to use that could take some sort of real blueing. I also would make the hand grips out of rubber and not have them move around and rattle as much as they do on all these plastic grip guns. Pachmyr Grips in real handguns use rubber, why not these replicas? It boggles the mind as it's the same sort of price as plastic, yet you would have added realism. They could bump the price up and none of us would complain as it would look and most importantly, feel authentic. Make them rubber and charge us extra. I do however like this gun so much I will be buying a second one down the road. My wife and I are putting this one to hard use. We might even buy 2 more if the price is right. A must for every serious revolver shooter and airgun collector. 9 out of 10 in my books. Mick from Ottawa.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0
1 to 8 of 8 reviews