Customer Reviews for Umarex Steel Force Full-Auto Blowback BB Rifle

Brand: Umarex

Type: BB Rifle
Manufacturer: Umarex
Model: Steel Force (AR Platform)
Materials: Plastic and some Metal
Weight: 3.37 pounds
Barrel: 10 inches, Metal non-rifled
Propulsion: CO2 x 2
Action: Semi and 6 round burst blowback, single action only
Ammunition Type: 4.5mm BB's
Ammunition Capacity: 300/30 round hopper/magazine
FPS: 430+

Trigger Pull: The trigger pull on the Umarex Steel Force CO2 BB Machine gun is single action only, so you will need to charge the rifle by pulling back the charging handle first, one this is done the trigger is reset and ready the gun is ready to shoot. The blowback operation charges the internal bolt automatically afterwards so keep this in mind, to release the bolt you will need to take out the CO2 magazine and press the trigger. The trigger is fairly light but has some initial take up and then a bit of creep before it releases the bolt.

Accuracy: I shot the Umarex Steel Force at a target from 30 feet away in a semi rested position using both the semi auto and 6 round burst modes, the Steel Force performed very good getting around a 1.5 inch 10 shot grouping in semi auto and then spreading out a bit in 6 round burst mode which was to be expected, still a respectable grouping. Shots where well centered on the target but I did have the advantage of using a red dot scope, I found when using the none adjustable open sights that come with the Umarex Steel Force that I was shooting under the target at closer ranges. My Chrony testing did not go exactly as planned due to my temperamental Chronograph but I was able to get two shots to read and they average out at 466 fps, well over the 430 claimed fps.

Build Quality: The Umarex Steel Force CO2 BB Rifle is mostly plastic on the outside with most of it's metal parts on the inside, you will find a metal flash hider, metal trigger and metal trigger guard but other than that everything else externally is plastic. The plastic seems durable enough but it has just a bit too much shine for me which I think makes it look less like metal and more like plastic. Everything seemed to function as expected but again I would have liked to have seen a bit more metal, not necessarily the outer shell, but I feel the selector switch, sights, magazine release, charging handle and front and back sights could have been made out of metal and would have given this Umarex rifle a bit more weight and balance.

Realism: The Umarex Steel Force CO2 BB Rifle is designed on the AR platform and for the most part is about the right size shape and look of an AR pr M16 rifle. Even the selector switch, magazine release, rear adjustable stock and Charging handle function just like a real AR! Some parts are model in just for looks like the bolt release, dust cover and forward assist but at least they fully look the part. The plastic for me was the real tell here as it kind of looks like plastic where as some plastic guns are really hard to tell they are not metal, but other than that this is a pretty decent replica of an AR Rifle.

Pros:

  • Higher than claimed fps.
  • Good accuracy in both semi and 6 round burst mode.
  • Got lots of shots per dual CO2 (Full Hopper).
  • Love the adjustable AR stock which was missing and needed on the Steel Storm.
  • Not a bad replica of an AR platform gun.
  • Full auto has a very high rate of fire.
  • Internal blowback does give a bit of recoil feedback feel.
  • Lots of rials for adding on accessories.
  • Price point is good for a fun dull auto BB rifle.

Cons:

  • Sights are non-adjustable.
  • Plastic finish could have been a bit higher grade, like what most Airsoft AR's use.
  • Just a bit more metal would have been nice and added to the overall weight a bit: Selector, Magazine Release, Sights, Charging handle.

Comments: The Umarex Steel Force CO2 BB Machine Gun is for sure an improvement over the Steel Storm, first of all it is a true replica of a real rifle in production (The AR/M16 platform), it also has a rear stock that is adjustable which makes shooting this gun on target so much more easier. Overall I feel it shoots better than the Steel Storm with improved accuracy and performance. With that said the Steel Storm is still a great BB machine gun if you’re looking for more of a pistol SMG design. For the low cost of the Steel Force you really cannot go wrong, this BB machine gun will put a smile on your face every time you take it out to shoot it.

 
1 to 10 of 14 reviews

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Mar 19, 2019
Certified buyer

Wow... awesome!!

It came fast. I got express shipping. It was perfect. Works perfect. Fires super fast!! Awesome rifle. Best bang for you buck!
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Mar 04, 2019

Steel force repair

I bought the steel force from replica Airguns about 3 years ago and was super excited to get this gun. I followed the instructions for oiling each cylinder with pel gun oil each use and was always very careful with this gun and installed the mag with care each time. It did not take long before the trouble started but it was way after the warranty period as I live in town and cannot shoot until I go to the cottage. Anyway, the gun turned out to be as bad as everything you have read about it in all the reviews I have seen. I am persistent and kept tearing it down to try and repair as I had nothing to loose. I have put it away for months at a time but this last time I have figured it out. I filed and polished the slide and hammer, this helped but was not the fix. It turns out that on the left hand side of the firing mechanism there is a small (heavyish) spring that resets the firing pin. Oiling the area helped but was not enough. I took a bobby pin and cut off the ends and bent 90 deg angles on each end and then inserted it into the ends of that spring to help force the firing pin lock back all the way. Now the gun fires properly, no more misfires and it fits under the casing with no modification. It is a good idea to have a backup of the tiny "o" rings for the mag as it is a week point and will fail regularly but it is manageable. Now I am finally happy with this gun.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Quality
Accuracy
Money Value
Nov 09, 2018
Certified buyer

It's a blast until...?

I love this rifle even though it mostly plastic, it's accuracy is one of the best air rifle that I own. Every time I went for a cig I bring this out with me, put almost 2500 rounds through before I got the leaking magazine. That's ok, there's a replacement kit for these mags because steel storm had this issue too. So when they arrive I should be back out to shoot some more. I'll update if I should have more problems. So the mag as a new problem, it the plastic part that is on the steel part of the mag it not keeping the spring a air value part in place. 10/24/2018 to 2/19/2019,If you don't pull your mag everytime you run out of bbs and have replaced the cheap O rings this should last longer,But like I said I do bring this out everytime I have a cig so well money spent for the fun.I look into to seeing Umarex will spend a new mag out.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Accuracy
Quality
Sep 10, 2018

Steel force is an understatement

With two co2 cartridges, it makes this BB blasting carbine replica worth the green backs that's for sure. Add a laser pointer and a scope and hopefully the only thing that is around is cans or bottles cause I'm sure any game the size of a - well lets not get any idea's other then targets for now. Can blast 6 BBs in bursts and is quite accurately stable. Other then the sound of BBs rolling in the reservoirs, it would make a good prop for movies.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Aug 26, 2018

Bon pistolet!

Tres bon pour la qualité et la précision!
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Quality
Money Value
Accuracy
Aug 19, 2018

Total useless junk

Bought this gun. Loved this gun.... for maybe 1500 shots. Then it stopped firing. Everywhere you look online people complain about this issue, and have a few suggestions. So I do a FULL tear down. Reassemble. Seemed to work... for another 100 or so shots, then the same thing. Rinse/repeat these steps about 6 times then I finally just had enough. I now use it as target practice for my kwc uzis. Great concept and appearance, horrible implementation and usage. I regret two things in life: starting to smoke, and buying this gun. I cannot warn you enough about staying away from this gun. Full disclosure: I have purchased guns from replica air guns but not this specific one. Umarex won’t do repairs without shipping fee, and after all the accessories I got for this thing that I now have to use elsewhere (which I’m ok with, but still...) I’m not spending money for repairs.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Dec 16, 2017

Awful product, stay away

Bought this and after a few minutes of usage, when the CO2 was nearly empty, it switched itself to full auto. Thought it was no big deal and ignored that. 3 months later I contacted replicaairguns and umarexusa about it. Since my guarantee was just expired (2 days) there is nothing that they would do. Then maybe 2 weeks later, the magazine valve started to leak as soon as a CO2 cartridge was screwed in. All the CO2 leaked. I tried to disassemble the valve, it's pretty easy, and repolish it to no avail. Wasted several CO2 cartridges in the process. No spare magazine available anywhere, they sell them for $40 anyway whereas I just need a small valve, a plastic seal and a bronze bushing. It's a discontinued product by umarex. A shame. Goes to trash bin after 4 months and less than 3000 BB fired!
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Sep 16, 2017

3 times the dissapointment

This could have been such great fun, the idea was great but I bought not one, not 2 but 3 of them to really give it a try, not a single one of them lasted long enough for the co2 to expire! There is a serious problem with the selector switch, they start shooting at full auto all the time then a minute later they shoot at a distance of 3 feet and finally just stop shooting. I figured it was bad luck with the first, then really bad luck with the second and after 3 I just gave up, hope one day they will make a version that actually works, the concept was great and it was loads of fun for the first 10 minutes that it actually worked properly.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Jul 09, 2017

Not sure what happened

I loaded up my gun with 300 bbs like the manufacturer says. I mounted my new sight, cocked the gun and got 2 shots. Now it won't fire. Jammed? Disappointed
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Quality
Accuracy
Apr 12, 2017

Steel Force

I purchased the Steel Force a couple of months ago. I simply love plinking in the backyard, and after adding a custom silencer I play all night.CO2 can be a pain but with 2 in the clip you get more shots then expected.The FPS is under clocked, which is great in my books.And after i got the shaking down... OMG!Definitely a good time.Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0
1 to 10 of 14 reviews