Deal of the Week Deal of the Week

Customer Reviews for Glock 17 3rd Gen Blowback BB Pistol

Brand: Umarex

Type: BB Pistol
Manufacturer: Umarex
Model: Glock 17
Materials: Metal and Polymer
Weight: 726 g (1.6 lb)
Barrel: Smoothbore
Power Source: CO2
Action: Semi-Automatic
Ammo Type: 4.5mm Steel BBs
Ammo Capacity: 18 Rounds
FPS: 365

Trigger Pull: The blowback action pre-cocks the internal hammer for a light single-action type trigger pull. I call it a a double-action trigger mainly because there is an indexing of a BB from the magazine into the breach area every time you pull the trigger, which means the take up is long and there is a little bit of friction from the mechanism that indexes a BB.

Accuracy: Using my Caldwell Ballistic Precision Chronograph, I was able to get really close to the factory claimed FPS of 365 with an average of 363 FPS. Shooting conditions were decent, a lot warmer than outside but still not as warm as your typical summer day. The temperature was 15 Degrees Celsius (59 Degrees Fahrenheit). In warmer conditions I am sure I would have hit the claimed 365 or even higher. I placed 10 shots into a paper target from 30 feet down range using my standard seated and rested shooting position. I was able to get just under a 2 inch 10 shot group, not bad at all! The pistol did shoot a little bit to the left which is common with most CO2 action airguns and I know it’s not entirely me since others have commented the same. Elevation was pretty close at 30 feet.

Build Quality: The Umarex Glock 17 3rd Gen Blowback BB Pistol seems well-made overall. Fit and finish are nice and slide wiggle is minimal. There is a bit of a clanky sound when the slide cycles but since most of these types of airguns are made out of pot metal with high zinc alloy content this is expected.

Realism: It absolutely looks the part of a Glock 17 3rd Generation. Sitting on the table and even holding it in your hand you are going to think it's the real deal until you drop the magazine and see that it is a CO2 mag. Mostly everything operates like a real Glock 17 but the slide is not a full blowback, meaning it only goes back about 3/4 as much as a true Glock slide would. One other noticeable difference is the ability to quickly field strip the pistol. You will need to remove a pin since the take down tabs are non-functioning and molded into the frame.

Pros:

  • 1:1 scale replica of the Glock G17 9mm handgun
  • Metal slide with crisp blowback action
  • Polymer body with Gen 3 textured grip
  • Equipped with trigger safety and latch safety
  • Safety built into the serial number plate area keeps it well hidden
  • Tactical accessory rail under barrel
  • Full sized drop free metal magazine
  • Decent 365 FPS for a blowback BB gun

Cons:

  • Slide sound is a bit clanky
  • Sights are not adjustable
  • Blowback action eats through CO2 faster
  • Would have liked to have seen more pristine packaging from Glock

Comments: This is the Glock airgun replica you've been waiting for. The Umarex Glock 17 BB Pistol is identical to the real steel version in almost every way. The dimensions are so accurate it will fit an official GLOCK Duty Holster. The Gen 3 model features an ergnomoic grip with a textured backstrap and finger grooves. With snappy CO2 blowback action, it feels and fires just like the real thing.

Buy the Magazine: UMX2255209

 
1 to 9 of 9 reviews

Accuracy
Money Value
Quality
May 03, 2019
Certified buyer

"Looks" just like the real thing.

PROs Visually impressive, looks just like the real thing. Only a real Glock lover would see the difference. Even if you hold it, it's a bit light, but feels good. The mag even seats better than a real Glock. A side by side visual comparison is excellent. CONs The cons aren't really important because this is a BB gun, but 5 stars until you start to play with it. The slide only comes back part way, it even moves on it's own from the inertia of moving the gun around giving the impression there's an elastic band instead of a spring and a guide rod holding the slide. Don't expect the real thing, it's still a neat toy, with a toy trigger. Still worth the purchase.
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Apr 20, 2019

Decent Glock Relpica

It seems fine. I put servers hundred rounds in it, and noticed a small 3 inch grouping. Hate the half blowback, also hate the mag, prefer the Airsoft Gen 4 glock17. Build quality is fantastic though. Watch a few reviews before buying.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Money Value
Mar 26, 2019

sav gun

this is a sick gun it came 3 days early really happy with it! then only thing i don’t like about it is that’s it doesn’t have a slot for the allen key for the c02 and that it’s made from pollymer but besides that savage gun
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Accuracy
Quality
Money Value
Mar 15, 2019
Certified buyer

Glock 17 gen3

I discovered this model last week, I knew about the 19, non blowback model, fixed slide and such, not quite worth my hard earned cash......but a full trades blowback glock 17 was worth a try. The clamshell packing leads on to believe this is a cheap gun, but in the hand weight is near the real deal, little slide wobble, crisp mould lines and all appropriate markings minus the 9x19. I promptly oiled with crosman pellet gun oil, the trigger linkage with the slide back, the metal block at the rear of gun inside the slide and the bb advance assembly+ one drop on the guide rod. At this point everything was moving smoothly, took it to the back yard with a mag full of smart shot and hit a club soda mini can at 15 yards, it was lightly shaken and dam near split in two!, so far I've run Hornady, RWS, and smart shot through it and it run flawlessly. The pistol on fresh gas has a nice report, good blowback feel, the trigger is a bit long, actually double action for some reason???, but is smooth with a clean break. The trigger is the only reason I wouldn't recommend using this as a training tool for glock owners though it shoots very well, could be good for holster discipline training, fits my kydex holster perfectly I might add. Things can always be better but for price point this one's hard to beat!
Was this review helpful to you?  0  0

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Feb 22, 2019

Good but should have been better

It's a good pistol for the price, but left me unimpressed.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Quality
Accuracy
Money Value
Feb 15, 2019

Average pistol, Umarex needs to tighten up their Glock game

After owning two blowback airsoft Glocks, both Umarex products, this was a bit of a disappointment. Both airsofts can be field stripped. The 17 is a Gen 4 and even has a double recoil spring like it's real steel counterpart. The outer appearance of this one isn't too bad but other than that, it's far from perfect. When you rack the slide it sounds really cheap. There's an audible hollow "clunk". This gun is in line with the Umarex "budget guns". Having the Glock licensing is a big deal in my opinion and it seems like Umarex are taking it for granted with this one.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  0

Quality
Accuracy
Money Value
Feb 13, 2019

Nice pistol

This is my review of the Umarex Glock 17 BB pistol. I like the pistol I got it in the mail today. It shoot nice. One thing I don't like about this is that one is unable to field strip it. I own an Airsoft KJW Glock that also runs on CO2 with that one I get 49 shots on a CO2 powerlet however on the Umarex BB pistol that I got I got in excess of 100 shoots per CO2 powerlet (I stopped counting after 100). It is not a complete blowback it has I would estimate around 75% blowback. It does have complete trades with the exception of the 9X19 markings. I am recommending this pistol.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  1

Money Value
Quality
Accuracy
Feb 13, 2019
Certified buyer

Not bad, but not as great as it should have been...

The Gen 3 Glock 17 is not a full blow-back pistol, it's a partial blow-back. This saves on CO2 usage and apparently helps increase BB FPS, but does not give the blow-back much of a kick. If you want a G17 with full blow-back, Umarex is supposed to be releasing a Glock 17 Gen 4 .177 (4.5 mm) BB in the coming months (approx Q2 2019) that will be a full blow-back, but probably cost more. Initially the slide would get stuck when you press the catch release while not charged with air. After a few mags and some break-in this issue went away and the slide works just fine. I am noticing the slide moves slower than I'd expect it to move forward after a shot is fired. I'm going to guess Umarex could have put a slightly stronger spring in there or maybe it will need more time to break-in. The mag is an awesome weighted full-size dropout, press the button and it just falls right out. I've had no problem with this at all and it's worked flawlessly for me. Pushing the mag in has worked fine too, nice and solid. Fit and finish is very good, shaking the gun did not produce much slide rattling noise when compared to some other models like the Umarex 9XP. There is the centre-line seem where the two halves come together on the lower, but none of the seems on my gun are even that noticeable much less sharp enough to cut your hands as another reviewer was commenting on. The blow-back could have been stronger given the cost of this gun vs the Berretta APX and even the Umarex 9XP. I think Umarex fell short given how in-demand this gun has been to get made and the fact they have the official license from Glock - this gun should have been "Glock perfection". I like it but I don't love it and I so wanted to love it.
Was this review helpful to you?  2  0

Quality
Money Value
Accuracy
Jan 29, 2019

Dont bother.

This gun is crap. I paid 220 for this gun. All you're paying for is a metal slide and a plastic grip. The magazine gets stuck going in half of the time. And having to press the mag release button like 3 or 4 times just to get it out. The plastic seems on the gun dig into your hands and makes small cuts to your palms. I would not recommend getting this gun unless its on sale like.. really on sale. (these problems were for me, it may be different for you.) The last thing i'd like to mention that is if you're looking for a similar feel as a real glock, go somewhere else. I have fired a real Glock 17 3rd gen, and it feels nothing like this, which is odd, considering this gun is a Glock product.
Was this review helpful to you?  1  2
1 to 9 of 9 reviews